These four seasons of the Universe may just change your perspective

2 min

Universal thought and belief have over time become more attractive to a growing number of modern-day followers and believers. There have been several significant literary works published on the topic of Universal being, thought and more recently, time.

The Vedic System and Science has given light to how we can measure and understand universal time. According to this thought system, there are four main Yugas namely – Satya Yuga, Treta Yuga, Dvapara Yuga, and Kali Yuga. These four Yugas or time units are more comprehensible when thought of as the ‘four universal seasons.’ The same reflection is seen with our four earthly seasons, each comprising of a specific time cycle.

With the universal seasons mentioned above, one thousand Yuga cycles amount to one day of Brahma or more well-known as a Kalpa. Depending on how one measures time and understand the existence of how seasonal change occurs, the four seasons of the Universe each enjoys a specific spiritual practice and ultimate influence in those who successfully practice it. 

In the article below we will briefly discuss the four Yugas. For further reading on the yugas, visit our mentioned online resource.

Satya Yuga

Satya Yuga or the Golden Age as it has been mentioned in numerous Vedic texts paints a picture of how human civilization once lived in full harmony. During this time, there was no disparity between cultures, no war, famine, or cross-border conflict. Humanity found solace in the natural environment.

This is quite common with many scriptures in modern-day, which explains the beginning of humanity as something peaceful. As humans progressed, there was less focus on spiritual practice and humanity found more comfort in material belongings. As the competition among humans came to life, the class-based society was first introduced which led to the start of the Silver Age.

Treta Yuga

During this age, the popularity of nonviolent religious sacrifice came to life, intending to propitiate the gods – in a way we can understand this as a way of humanity trying to please the Supreme Being of the Universe.

As Treta progressed, and human society started to form, man was divided into four different classes – Brahmanas (intellectuals), Kshatriyas (administrators), vaishyas (merchants), and Sudras (workers). Still, during this age, man was more respectful and considerate of his or her fellow neighbor, and peace and fellowship flourished.

Dvapara Yuga

As the different levels of society took a firmer ground, men found a way to improve and increase their stature and standard of life. This meant that some in ‘lower’ levels of society were exploited for others’ gain. These changes and unequal changes which occurred saw the commencement of wars and some men taking the seat as king – vowing to their people as being the sole bearer of power, wealth, and influence.

Further expansion of spiritual interaction and the worship of the Supreme Person saw hundreds to thousands of temples being constructed across the world. This was also one of the first noticeable moments of selfishness and irreligion taking form in man.

Kali Yuga

Known as the Iron Age – Kali Yuga sees the abolishment of peace and longevity in man, while morality in man has become a shadow of its former self. Religion and religious practices see a lesser level of importance through the eyes of man – while battling with material hardships and living in constant fear of their fellow neighbor.

In Kali Yuga life is short, and man is faced with living and working in an immoral society that values material belongings more important than peace, harmony, and morality.

Leave your vote


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.

Send this to a friend